Grammar/Exercises

1.Put in much or many.

  1. Did you buy much food?
  2. There aren’t many hotels in this town.
  3. We haven’t got much petrol.
  4. Were there many people on the train?
  5. Did many students fail the examination?
  6. She hasn’t got much money.
  7. I haven’t seen him for many years.

2.Fill in much/many/a lot of

  1. Sue drinks much tea.
  2. We didn’t spend much money.
  3. We’ll have to hurry.We haven’t got much time.
  4. He always puts much salt on his food.
  5. I use the phone many at work.
  6. Did it cost many to repair the car?
  7. I don’t know many people in this town.

3.Complete the sentences. Use much or many with one of these words.

books, countries, luggage, people, time, times

  1. I don’t read very much.I haven’t got many books.
  2. Quick! We must hurry. We haven’t got much time.
  3. Do you travel a lot? Have you been to many countryes.
  4. She hasn’t lived here very long, so she doesn’t  know many people.
  5. Have you got much luggage? No, only this bag.
  6. I know Paris very well. I’ve been there many times.

4.Put in little/a little/few/a few

  1. Do you mind if I ask you few questions?
  2. This town is not a very interesting place to visit, so few tourists come here.
  3. I don’t think he would be a good teacher.He has got little patience.
  4. Would you like milk in your coffee? Yes, please a little.
  5. Have you ever been to Paris? Yes I have been there a few times.
  6. There was few traffic so the journey didn’t take very long.

5.Put in a little and a few + one of these words.

air, chairs, days, friends, letters, milk, times

  1. Last night I wrote a few letters to my family and friends.
  2. Can I have a little milk in my coffee,please?
  3. Are you going out alone?  No, I am going  with my few friends.
  4. Have you ever been to Rome? Yes, have been there a few times
  5. There wasn’t much furniture  in the room –  just a table and a few chairs
  6. I’m going out for a walk. I need a few time fresh little air.

Оставьте комментарий